In April 2017, Heather Humphreys, T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs and Michael Ring, T.D., Minister of State for Regional Economic Development, launched  the 2017 Town and Village Renewal Scheme.

The scheme is specifically targeted at rural towns and villages with populations of less than 10,000.  Applications from towns can range from €20,000 to a maximum of €100,000.  Funding of up to €200,000 will also be considered for a limited number of projects which can deliver exceptionally strong economic benefit to a town and its outlying areas.

Local authorities around the country are now accepting applications for the scheme (contact details in each of the local authorities for the scheme are set out in the table below).  Each local authority will choose up to 15 project applications by 30 June for onward submission to the Department for the final selection process, to take place in July.

Further details on the Town and Village Renewal Scheme can be accessed here.

The following video provides an overview of the Town and Village Renewal Scheme and the types of projects which are eligible.

Contact Details for Town and Village Renewal Scheme Enquiries

County Name E-Mail Address
Carlow County Council Bernie O’Brien bobrien@carlowcoco.ie
Carlow County Council Kieran Comerford kcomerford@carlowcoco.ie
Cavan County Council Eoin Doyle edoyle@cavancoco.ie
Clare County Council Leonard Cleary lcleary@clarecoco.ie
Cork City Council Pat Ledwidge pat_ledwidge@corkcity.ie
Cork City Council Valerie O’Sullivan Valerie_osullivan@corkcity.ie
Cork County Council Sharon Corcoran sharon.corcoran@corkcoco.ie
Donegal County Council Paddy Doherty paddy.doherty@donegalcoco.ie
Dublin City Council Brendan Kenny brendan.kenny@dublincity.ie
Dún Laoghaire – Rathdown County Council Dearbhla Lawson dlawson@dlrcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Ann Marie Farrelly annmarie.farrelly@fingalcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Ethna Felten Ethna.Felten@fingal.ie
Galway City Council Eileen Ruane eileen.ruane@galwaycity.ie
Galway County Council community@galwaycoco.ie
Kerry County Council Michael Scannell mscannell@kerrycoco.ie
Kildare County Council Peter Minnock pminnock@kildarecoco.ie
Kildare County Council Sonia Kavanagh skavanagh@kildarecoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Simon Walton simon.walton@kilkennycoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Maria Melia maria.melia@kilkennycoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Martin Prendiville martin.prendiville@kilkennycoco.ie
Laois County Council Kieran Kehoe kkehoe@laoiscoco.ie
Laois County Council Michael Rainey mrainey@laoiscoco.ie
Laois County Council Ann Marie Kelly amkelly@laoiscoco.ie
Leitrim County Council Michelle Reynolds mreynolds@leitrimcoco.ie
Leitrim County Council Terence McGovern tmcgovern@leitrimcoco.ie
Limerick City & County Council Pat Daly pat.daly@limerick.ie
Longford County Council Barbara Heslin bheslin@longfordcoco.ie
Longford County Council Lorraine O’Connor laustin@longfordcoco.ie
Louth County Council Mary T Daly maryt.daly@louthcoco.ie
Mayo County Council Joanne Grehan Joanne.Grehan@mayococo.ie
Mayo County Council Peter Hynes phynes@mayococo.ie
Meath County Council Barry Lynch blynch@meathcoco.ie
Monaghan County Council Paul Clifford pclifford@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly County Council Declan Kirrane dkirrane@offalycoco.ie
Roscommon County Council communitydev@roscommoncoco.ie
Sligo County Council Dorothy Clarke dclarke@sligococo.ie
Sligo County Council Michael Carty mcarty@sligococo.ie
Sligo County Council Ray O’Grady rogrady@sligococo.ie
South Dublin County Council Billy Coman bcoman@sdublincoco.ie
South Dublin County Council Colm Ward cward@sdublincoco.ie
South Dublin County Council Frank Nevin fnevin@sdublincoco.ie
Tipperary County Council Sinead Carr sinead.carr@tipperarycoco.ie
Tipperary County Council townandvillage2017@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford City & County Council Joe Sullivan jsullivan@waterfordcouncil.ie
Waterford City & County Council Lar Power lpower@waterfordcity.ie
Waterford City & County Council Michael Quinn mquinn@waterfordcouncil.ie
Waterford City & County Council townvillagerenewal@waterfordcouncil.ie
Westmeath County Council Barry Kehoe bkehoe@westmeathcoco.ie
Wexford County Council Tony Larkin Tony.Larkin@wexfordcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Joe Lane jlane@wicklowcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Lorraine Lynch llynch@wicklowcoco.ie

 

Action Plan for Rural Development – Interim Progress Report

In January 2017, Heather Humphreys, T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, published the Action Plan for Rural Development.  The Plan contains over 270 actions to be delivered by a range of Government Departments, State agencies and other bodies over the next three years to support the economic and social development of rural Ireland.

Progress Reports on the actions in the Plan are due to be published on a six-monthly basis, with the first report due to be published around July.  However, significant progress has already been achieved in relation to many actions within the Plan, as well as other initiatives which will deliver significant benefits for rural communities.

In order to provide a snapshot of the progress achieved to date, the Department has produced an Interim Report on the Action Plan for Rural Development which details the initiatives put in place to date.  The Interim Report can be accessed here.

View Full Article