In April 2017, Heather Humphreys, T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs and Michael Ring, T.D., Minister of State for Regional Economic Development, launched  the 2017 Town and Village Renewal Scheme.

The scheme is specifically targeted at rural towns and villages with populations of less than 10,000.  Applications from towns can range from €20,000 to a maximum of €100,000.  Funding of up to €200,000 will also be considered for a limited number of projects which can deliver exceptionally strong economic benefit to a town and its outlying areas.

Local authorities around the country are now accepting applications for the scheme (contact details in each of the local authorities for the scheme are set out in the table below).  Each local authority will choose up to 15 project applications by 30 June for onward submission to the Department for the final selection process, to take place in July.

Further details on the Town and Village Renewal Scheme can be accessed here.

The following video provides an overview of the Town and Village Renewal Scheme and the types of projects which are eligible.

Contact Details for Town and Village Renewal Scheme Enquiries

County Name E-Mail Address
Carlow County Council Bernie O’Brien
Carlow County Council Kieran Comerford
Cavan County Council Eoin Doyle
Clare County Council Leonard Cleary
Cork City Council Pat Ledwidge
Cork City Council Valerie O’Sullivan
Cork County Council Sharon Corcoran
Donegal County Council Paddy Doherty
Dublin City Council Brendan Kenny
Dún Laoghaire – Rathdown County Council Dearbhla Lawson
Fingal County Council Ann Marie Farrelly
Fingal County Council Ethna Felten
Galway City Council Eileen Ruane
Galway County Council
Kerry County Council Michael Scannell
Kildare County Council Peter Minnock
Kildare County Council Sonia Kavanagh
Kilkenny County Council Simon Walton
Kilkenny County Council Maria Melia
Kilkenny County Council Martin Prendiville
Laois County Council Kieran Kehoe
Laois County Council Michael Rainey
Laois County Council Ann Marie Kelly
Leitrim County Council Michelle Reynolds
Leitrim County Council Terence McGovern
Limerick City & County Council Pat Daly
Longford County Council Barbara Heslin
Longford County Council Lorraine O’Connor
Louth County Council Mary T Daly
Mayo County Council Joanne Grehan
Mayo County Council Peter Hynes
Meath County Council Barry Lynch
Monaghan County Council Paul Clifford
Offaly County Council Declan Kirrane
Roscommon County Council
Sligo County Council Dorothy Clarke
Sligo County Council Michael Carty
Sligo County Council Ray O’Grady
South Dublin County Council Billy Coman
South Dublin County Council Colm Ward
South Dublin County Council Frank Nevin
Tipperary County Council Sinead Carr
Tipperary County Council
Waterford City & County Council Joe Sullivan
Waterford City & County Council Lar Power
Waterford City & County Council Michael Quinn
Waterford City & County Council
Westmeath County Council Barry Kehoe
Wexford County Council Tony Larkin
Wicklow County Council Joe Lane
Wicklow County Council Lorraine Lynch


Action Plan for Rural Development – Interim Progress Report

In January 2017, Heather Humphreys, T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, published the Action Plan for Rural Development.  The Plan contains over 270 actions to be delivered by a range of Government Departments, State agencies and other bodies over the next three years to support the economic and social development of rural Ireland.

Progress Reports on the actions in the Plan are due to be published on a six-monthly basis, with the first report due to be published around July.  However, significant progress has already been achieved in relation to many actions within the Plan, as well as other initiatives which will deliver significant benefits for rural communities.

In order to provide a snapshot of the progress achieved to date, the Department has produced an Interim Report on the Action Plan for Rural Development which details the initiatives put in place to date.  The Interim Report can be accessed here.

View Full Article