Rural Broadband – Our Role

The Programme for a Partnership Government commits to measures to assist in the rollout of the network once a contract or contracts have been awarded.  The Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs has been tasked with ensuring there are no local barriers to deployment and also with identifying priority areas for rollout which will in turn feed into the procurement process and rollout schedule for the winning bidder(s).

The Department has established 2 Regional Broadband Action Groups, who will work with Local Authorities, Local Enterprise Offices, LEADER Groups and other relevant agencies. The Action Groups will work to accelerate the broadband network build in rural Ireland, once a contract(s) has been awarded, by ensuring that there are no local barriers identifying priority areas for rollout. They will also assist in the development of Rural Digital Strategies, as set out in the Programme for a Partnership Government.

Who will benefit from the National Broadband Plan?

Through ongoing commercial investment, most of our cities and towns will benefit from high speed broadband over the coming years. The areas that are not covered by commercial investment are the target for the State funded investment.

The NBP’s ambition is to achieve 100% coverage across Ireland within 3 – 5 years of commencement of large scale rollout. This will be achieved through a combination of commercial investment and the State-led intervention.  The profile of the area expected to be addressed by the intervention strategy includes:

  • 96% of national land mass
  • 100,000km of road network
  • All off-shore islands
  • Over 757,000 postal addresses
  • 1.8m citizens (38% of national population)
  • 688,000 members of active labour force (38% of national total)
  • 214,000 white collar employees (34% of national total)
  • 89% of farm employment (139,000 farmers nationally)
  • 80,266 farms (94% of national total of farms)
  • 63,440 non-farm businesses (B&Bs, shops, doctors, etc.)
  • 62,226 SMEs, primarily micro
  • 1,522 schools (40% of total)
  • 601 business parks (7% of national total)

Duties of the Broadband Officer

 

The Mobile Phone and Broadband Taskforce identified the need for local authorities to assign an officer with responsibility for broadband and mobile services.

 

The Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs provides funding for an officer with specific responsibility for broadband and mobile services has been provided to all local authorities To date 28 of the 31 local authorities have appointed a Broadband Officer. The remaining local authorities are in the process of identifying and appointing a Broadband Officer.

 

The Broadband Officer will act as a single point of contact within the local authorities for engagement with telecommunications providers.  The broadband officer will project manage the internal structures that local authorities put in place and ensure that these structures are adhered to and will be responsible for maintaining the integrity of the process.  The officer will assist with the preparation for the roll out of the National Broadband Plan and will create awareness of broadband services in the county.

 

A list of the Broadband Officers in each local authority is provided below:

 

Local Authority Broadband Officer Email
Carlow Eoin Lyng elyng@carlowcoco.ie
Cavan Kieran Hever khever@cavancoco.ie
Clare Urban McMahon umcmahon@clarecoco.ie
Cork Dan O’Sullivan Dan.osullivan@corkcoco.ie
Cork City Appointment pending
Donegal Daragh McDonough DMCDONAG@donegalcoco.ie
Dublin City Jamie Cudden Jamie.cudden@dublincity.ie
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Fergal Kelly fkelly@dlrcoco.ie
Fingal David Storey David.Storey@fingal.ie
Galway Brian Barrett bbarrett@galwaycoco.ie
Galway City Alfie Jones Alfie.Jones@Galwaycity.ie
Kerry Diarmuid Reilly dreilly@kerrycoco.ie
Kildare Evelyn Wright ewright@kildarecoco.ie
Kilkenny Steven Coverdale steven.coverdale@kilkennycoco.ie
Laois Antoinette Brennan AnBrennan@laoiscoco.ie
Leitrim Shane Tiernan stiernan@leitrimcoco.ie
Limerick Mihai Bilauca Mihai.bilauca@limerick.ie
Longford Christine Collins ccollins@longford.ie
Louth Paul Mulligan paul.mulligan@louthcoco.ie
Mayo Stephen Carolan scarolan@mayococo.ie
Meath Fergus O’Rourke Fergus.orourke@meathcoco.ie
Monaghan John McArdle jmcardle@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly Ray Bell rbell@offalycoco.ie
Roscommon Annemarie Johnson ajohnston@roscommoncoco.ie
Sligo Nigel Carter ncarter@sligococo.ie
South Dublin Appointment pending
Tipperary Simon Howe Simon.howe@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford Jack Doyle jdoyle@waterfordcouncil.ie
Westmeath Gerry McCormack gmccorma@westmeathcoco.ie
Wexford Carolyne Godkin carolyne.godkin@wexfordcoco.ie
Wicklow Appointment pending

 

Progress on Broadband Connection

 

  • At the end of December 2016, there were 1.71 million active broadband subscriptions in Ireland. This was an increase of 0.3% on the previous quarter and 0.1% increase since December 2015.
  • There was an increase in total fixed line broadband subscriptions this quarter (up by 17,582) but a decrease in mobile broadband subscriptions (down by 12,042 subscriptions).
  • In Q4 2016, 82.9% of broadband subscriptions on all platforms were classed as residential broadband subscriptions. The platform with the highest percentage of residential vis-à-vis business subscriptions is cable broadband, while the mobile broadband category has the highest percentage of business customers.
  • In Q4 2016, 82.9% of broadband subscriptions on all platforms were classed as residential broadband subscriptions. The platform with the highest percentage of residential vis-à-vis business subscriptions is cable broadband, while the mobile broadband category has the highest percentage of business customers.

 

In general, since Q4 2014, there has been a steady growth of fixed broadband subscriptions and a decline of mobile broadband subscriptions. It should be noted that ComReg reports on active broadband subscriptions and the mobile broadband subscription numbers reported by ComReg do not include internet access over mobile handsets (such as smartphones).

 

Source: ComReg report Irish Communications Market, Quarterly Key Data Report (Q4 2016 data) https://www.comreg.ie/publication/irish-communications-market-quarterly-key-data-report-data-q4-2016/

 

Further information, mapping & how to check if I am in the intervention area?

If you would like further information in relation to the NBP, or you would like to check if your premises is located in the intervention area, you can visit the National Broadband Plan website at www.broadband.gov.ie and then locate your premises  on the map, enter your Eircode or use Eircode Finder tool or type your address into the search box.

Contact

For further information on the Department’s role in relation to the NBP please contact the Post Office Network & Broadband Implementation Unit at broadband@ahg.gov.ie or on 0188832400