Town and Village Renewal Scheme

This Scheme aims to support the revitalisation of Towns and Villages across Ireland, in order to increase their attractiveness as places in which to live and work. A wide variety of projects, have been identified by Local Authorities in conjunction with local community groups and businesses, including improving playgrounds and footpaths, tourism amenities, public art pieces and a wide range of works to improve the streetscape and public realm of towns and villages nationwide, to help make them more attractive and more sustainable places in which to live and work.A pilot initiative will be launched in 2nd half of the year to examine ways in which to encourage increased residential occupancy in town and village centres.

Funding

All small towns and villages with populations of less than 10,000 qualify for funding. There are two categories of eligible Towns/Villages:

Category 1:  Towns/villages with a population <5,000.

Category 2:  Towns with a population of 5,000 – 10,000.

Funding is being allocated to Local Authorities to meet up to 85% of the total cost of each project.

Contact Details for Town and Village Renewal Scheme Enquiries

County Name E-Mail Address
Carlow County Council Bernie O’Brien bobrien@carlowcoco.ie
Carlow County Council Kieran Comerford kcomerford@carlowcoco.ie
Cavan County Council Eoin Doyle edoyle@cavancoco.ie
Clare County Council Leonard Cleary lcleary@clarecoco.ie
Cork City Council Pat Ledwidge pat_ledwidge@corkcity.ie
Cork City Council Valerie O’Sullivan Valerie_osullivan@corkcity.ie
Cork County Council Sharon Corcoran sharon.corcoran@corkcoco.ie
Donegal County Council Paddy Doherty paddy.doherty@donegalcoco.ie
Dublin City Council Brendan Kenny brendan.kenny@dublincity.ie
Dún Laoghaire – Rathdown County Council Dearbhla Lawson dlawson@dlrcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Ann Marie Farrelly annmarie.farrelly@fingalcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Ethna Felten Ethna.Felten@fingal.ie
Galway City Council Eileen Ruane eileen.ruane@galwaycity.ie
Galway County Council community@galwaycoco.ie
Kerry County Council Michael Scannell mscannell@kerrycoco.ie
Kildare County Council Peter Minnock pminnock@kildarecoco.ie
Kildare County Council Sonia Kavanagh skavanagh@kildarecoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Simon Walton simon.walton@kilkennycoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Maria Melia maria.melia@kilkennycoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Martin Prendiville martin.prendiville@kilkennycoco.ie
Laois County Council Kieran Kehoe kkehoe@laoiscoco.ie
Laois County Council Michael Rainey mrainey@laoiscoco.ie
Laois County Council Ann Marie Kelly amkelly@laoiscoco.ie
Leitrim County Council Michelle Reynolds mreynolds@leitrimcoco.ie
Leitrim County Council Terence McGovern tmcgovern@leitrimcoco.ie
Limerick City & County Council Pat Daly pat.daly@limerick.ie
Longford County Council Barbara Heslin bheslin@longfordcoco.ie
Longford County Council Lorraine O’Connor laustin@longfordcoco.ie
Louth County Council Mary T Daly maryt.daly@louthcoco.ie
Mayo County Council Joanne Grehan Joanne.Grehan@mayococo.ie
Mayo County Council Peter Hynes phynes@mayococo.ie
Meath County Council Barry Lynch blynch@meathcoco.ie
Monaghan County Council Paul Clifford pclifford@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly County Council Declan Kirrane dkirrane@offalycoco.ie
Roscommon County Council communitydev@roscommoncoco.ie
Sligo County Council Dorothy Clarke dclarke@sligococo.ie
Sligo County Council Michael Carty mcarty@sligococo.ie
Sligo County Council Ray O’Grady rogrady@sligococo.ie
South Dublin County Council Billy Coman bcoman@sdublincoco.ie
South Dublin County Council Colm Ward cward@sdublincoco.ie
South Dublin County Council Frank Nevin fnevin@sdublincoco.ie
Tipperary County Council Sinead Carr sinead.carr@tipperarycoco.ie
Tipperary County Council townandvillage2017@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford City & County Council Joe Sullivan jsullivan@waterfordcouncil.ie
Waterford City & County Council Lar Power lpower@waterfordcity.ie
Waterford City & County Council Michael Quinn mquinn@waterfordcouncil.ie
Waterford City & County Council townvillagerenewal@waterfordcouncil.ie
Westmeath County Council Barry Kehoe bkehoe@westmeathcoco.ie
Wexford County Council Tony Larkin Tony.Larkin@wexfordcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Joe Lane jlane@wicklowcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Lorraine Lynch llynch@wicklowcoco.ie


CLÁR

The CLÁR programme (Ceantair Laga Ard-Riachtanais) is a targeted investment programme which provides funding for small scale infrastructural projects in rural areas that have suffered the greatest levels of population decline. The aim of CLÁR is to support the sustainable development of identified CLÁR areas by attracting people to live and work there.  The funding works in conjunction with local funding and on the basis of locally identified priorities.

Parts of Counties which benefit  under the  CLÁR Programme  are: Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wicklow and all of County Leitrim. Three  counties Dublin, Kildare and Wexford do not have any CLÁR areas.

CLAR map of Ireland

Funding

CLÁR has funding of €5M available for 2017.